Interview to Filipe Albuquerque

Hello! Today, the interview is to A1GP Team Portugal driver Filipe Albuquerque. The interview was translated from Portuguese by me, so the bad English is not of the driver, but yes of me.

This driver already won Formula Renault Eurocup and Formula Renault NEC Championships, and was the Red Bull Junior of the Year (2006).

He also competed in Spanish F3 Championship, Formula Renault Germany, World Series by Renault and GP2 Series before A1GP,that started in 2008 with Team Portugal. They won a race and taken some podiums, and fights for the championship this year, against Neel Jani (Team Switzerland) and Adam Carrol (Team Ireland).


Here are the interview:


1) – How started your passion by racing cars?

It started when my father took me and my brother to a kart track to try. At the time I was 7 years old.

After a very short time my father bougth a kart for him and other for my brother, and we began to go every weekend to drive.

2) – In your opinion, what was the best moment in your career? Why?

I have several. When I was European Champion of Formula Renault 2.0 and fill a big year in that I won two Championships. Another great moment was when I knew that I would drive a Formula 1, I was crazy, and then, of course, when I drove him.

3) – In your opinion, what was the worst moment in your career? Why?

The worst moment is difficult, because I still to learn with the mistakes. When something goes wrong, I learn with the error. But I can highlight one: when crashed at a Free Practise in Monaco, in the fourth lap. O was very upset with myself.

4) – What was the pilot (or pilots) that you like most to face in the tracks?

There are some. Impressed me, at the Formula Renault in 2005, Kamui Kobayashi, who seemed that it would crash almost all thje corners and still allways, they had a fantastic controlo f the car. I liked and I had great battles with Buemi at Renault 2.0, in 2006. A once in a race with rain, in the last lap we touch three times. At the moment I am quite enjoying of the duel that I have with Adam Carrol and Nell Jani in A1GP.

5) – In your career has been difficult to raise supports (sponsors, etc.)?

Yes, I don’t want to tell that always had many sponsors, but I consider myself a lucky pilot. I had two years as a professional CRG pilot, needed sponsors to live and that is good, then I had three years with Red Bull, they financed entire season during those years and now I am a A1 Team Portugal employed. So, until today I can say that I had some luck, but I don’t forget that when this all investors have given me na opportunity I match to what they wanted, a fast and Professional driver.

6) – What are the expectations that you have for your future?

I tis difficult to predict, because I am always very dependent of my results, for example if I win A1GP Championship and continue with good results, may appear a good opportunity, who knows for Formula 1, and then everything is different. Otherwise, I have to look the tourisms. I don’t make prospects, only concentrate every year, I center on the project in that I am and I try to do my best.

7) – Can you leave a message for your fans?

I want to thank the support that they give me, and invite them to do to the Autódromo Internacional do Algarve support me and Portugal.

You can to read the original version, in portuguese, here:

http://motorsandworldnews.wordpress.com/2009/04/04/entrevista-a-filipe-albuquerque/

One Response to Interview to Filipe Albuquerque

  1. Pingback: Entrevista a Filipe Albuquerque « Motors and World News - MWN

Leave a comment