Interview to Jeroen Bleekemolen

Hello! Today, the interview is to Jeroen Bleekemolen, the dutch driver.

This driver already competed in championships as FIA GT (2001, 2nd); DTM (2003, 13th and 2004) and A1GP (2006-07, 5th; 2007-08, 2007-08, 7th), in this last with 1 win and 2 poles.

Here are the interview:

1) – How started your passion by racing cars?

My dad was racing, so I went with him all the time. He was racing for Renault and they were always the support program to F1. I knew more about the F1 drivers then they knew about themselves at that time. I knew them all by the helmet and was really into F1. That was when I really knew I wanted to do something with racing, although I was only 5 years old.

2) – In your opinion, what was the best moment in your career? Why?

The best memory I have is A1GP Zandvoort 2006. We had 140.000 people there going crazy. I was leading and should have won in my first A1GP race. Unfortunately the team decided to keep me out on the wrong tires and we came in 4th. But still the people went crazy. When I took the lead I could actually hear the people scream at me and that was amazing. The next few months, where ever I came in Holland, everybody was still talking about that day. It was a great feeling to have all the Dutch fans behind you.

3) – In your opinion, what was the worst moment in your career? Why?

The worse moment was when I drove for Van Amersfoort Racing in F3 in 2000. We took pole in the 1st race, but after that nothing worked. We had a really bad season. The team really gave me the feeling that it was all my fault. Luckily enough I fought my way back and the next year I was vice World champion in the FIA GT. After that I got a Works drive in DTM with Opel and earned  money as a race driver, so I think I got back a lot of credits. It’s a shame they never wanted to admit that at that time the team wasn’t that great. I think I’ve proved enough to be a good driver by winning many things afterwards. If I wanted to be a F1 driver that year it should have worked. But I’m definitely not sad, I’m still having a great career. Of all my racing career, the only year that wasn’t successful was with them. So I guess it’s pretty clear what happened there.

4) – What was the pilot (or pilots) that you like most to face in the tracks?

I was a big fan of Ayrton Senna. To race with him would have been a dream. He was always a great inspiration to me.

5) – In your career has been difficult to raise supports (sponsors, etc.)?

Since 2002 I’ve been a professional racing driver. So since then I got money to drive. Before that time I had a few sponsors that helped me in the lower series to prove I was worth it. But I’m really happy that since that time teams want to have me as a driver and pay me for it. At the moment I have a lot of series and team to choose from to have me as a driver and I hope to keep it like that. It is great to be a professional racing driver. At the moment I’m racing in 6 different series so that just proves that I can go fast with a lot of different cars.

6) – What are your expectations for your future?  What is your greatest ambition / goal for the future?

I just hope to be able to continue what I’m doing at the moment. I’m earning my money as a racing driver and winning a lot of races. So if it goes on like that I won’t complain…

7) – Can you leave a message for your fans?

I know that all the fans make it possible for us to race. In Holland I’ve had a lot of support from all the orange fans and that is great. I will do my best for them! It’s great when the whole coutry is behind a driver and we have seen that already 3 times in Zandvoort with A1GP.

Next week, the interview that I will publish is to Marcel Fässler.

One Response to Interview to Jeroen Bleekemolen

  1. Pingback: Entrevista a Jeroen Bleekemolen « Motors and World News MWN - Versão Portuguesa

Leave a comment