Interview with Armando Parente

Hello! Today, the interview is to Portuguese driver Armando Parente. The interview was translated from Portuguese by me, so the bad English is not of the driver, but yes of me.

This driver already won Italian Open Masters ICA (Karting) in 2005 and ADAC Formula Masters in 2008.

He also was entered in A1GP as rookie driver in 2008-09 Malaysia round.

Here are the interview:

1) – How started your passion by racing cars?
My father was speed and rallies driver and since very little that take me to watch him races, so was a passion that I developed practically since baby.

2) – In your opinion, what was the best moment in your career? Why?
I believe that I had 2 great moments. The my first victory in Open Masters ICA in 2005, because it was my first great international successes and because I was the only driver with Dunlop tires and nobody believed that it was possible to win races with these tires. The other great moment I think that was all 2008 year. I think that I don’t had any brilliant race that a driver only do one in 1000, but I think that I have a brilliant year, with very few tests and always to think in final goal, the championship, having completed the goal that I was mapped in the beginning of the year, despite all financial problems.

3) – In your opinion, what was the worst moment in your career? Why?
Clearly 2006 year, because I was Dunlop official driver and in this year the tires were very slow and for a driver as me, that races always to win, to go to a week end and to know that the goal was not be the last was just awful.

4) – What is the driver (or drivers) that you like most to face in the tracks?
This is difficult… in formulas, there wasn’t a driver that I liked in particular but in the karts there were 3 that gave me particular pleasure. I remember when I was at the beginning of my career with 12/13 years and see them race in Braga. Davide Foré, Sauro Cesseti and Marco Árdigo.

5) – Have you certainty for this 2009 season that is coming?
The only certainty that I have that at this moment I’m in university. At racing level, honestly I think that this year will be nothing, simply because there are no Money or sponsors.

5) – All of we knows that you have, and always had,  big difficulties to raise supports. As talented driver that you are, you feel that your job isn’t recognised/disclosed enough?
I think that my work is recognized by people who are in the middle and the media connected to motor sports have disclosed enough. The problem is that was no disclosure in TV, sports newspapers or general newspapers.

6) – If you can’t to follow your career in auto racing, what are the ambitions that you have for your professional future?
Sincerely I don’t know well. I got the idea to become a track engineer but this is not my dream. But certainly I would like to stay connected to the cars and rather to competition

7) – Have you any superstition before the races?
No. The only thing that I like is to listen rock music (rather hard-rock) before the races but is not superstition, but is simply to relax (I know that it sounds strange, “rock to relax” but results).

8 ) – Can you leave a message to your fans?
Never give up your dreams! I had almost to stop racing 2 times by lack of Money, and I’m still her (I hope that the third time is not the final [of my career]).

If you want, you can to read the interview in Portuguese version, the original version, here:

http://motorsandworldnews.wordpress.com/2009/05/11/entrevista-a-armando-parente/

Next week, the interview is to Spanish GT’s driver Alvaro Barba

One Response to Interview with Armando Parente

  1. Pingback: Entrevista a Armando Parente « Motors and World News MWN – Versão Portuguesa

Leave a comment