Interview to Rodolfo Avila

Rodolfo Avila

Hello! Today the interview is to Rodolfo Ávila, the Macau driver. The interview is originally in Portuguese, and I had translated to English, so English errors are mine, and not of Rodolfo Avila.

Rodolfo Ávila already competed in championships as Asian Formula Renault Challenge (2004, 2nd), Formula 3 Asia (2005, 5th), British F3 (2006, 4th in National Class), International Formula Masters (2007, 18th) and Asian SuperCar Challenge (2008, Champion). This driver also competed in Macau Grand Prix (2005, 16th; 200, not classified, and 2007, 19th).

Here are the interview:

1) – How started your passion by racing cars?

Is a passion that comes since children, mainly for having grown up in Macau, where all years is held the Grand Prix. My father and my sister also helped me to become this passion bigger. I remember, when I was a children , to see them in the karts and I, because height that I had, to stay see them, because I could not drive, which further increased the desire of one day I might be behind the wheel.

2) – In your opinion, what was the best moment in your career until now? Why?

Well, this difficult to answer that question, because I had many joys over the years. Perhaps the moment that marked me most was when in 2003 I won the Asian Formula Renault Championship and to see the happiness in the eyes of my father.

3) – In your opinion, what was the worst moment in your career until now? Why?

In 2006, when I suffered a violent crash at Oulton Park in free practice before my debut in British Formula 3 Championship. The car ended up on the other side of the protection rails completely destroyed.

4) – What was the pilot (or pilots) that you like most to face in the tracks?

Over the years I had the luck to drive against high-level drivers and some of them already are in Formula 1. But I think that the driver that marked me more was my former team mate in Formula Master Championship, and champion at the time, Jérôme D’Ambrosio (GP2 driver).

6) – In your career has been difficult to raise sponsors?

I think that all drivers are the same. To raise sponsors has always been and always will be a difficult task, worse now with the current economic crisis. Fortunately, I was always supported by a number of Macau enterprises, as the BNU, RP Macao, PAL Asiaconsult the Sujika Crafts, Fat Siu Lau Restaurant or the Government of Macao, who believed from the outset and have value to my projects.

6) – What are the expectations that you have for your future? What is your biggest goal? Formula 1 is (or was) the main goal?

The future, especially do to this global crisis, i tis difficult to preditct, but of course I hope to continue my career and achieve more wins and joys in the coming years. Formula 1 has always been a dream, but off course, as for many drivers never pass it. I am not sad to not get these, I’m a realistic driver.

7) – Leaving aside your career and speaking on personal taste, what is the motor sport that attract most you? Why?

I have a Great passion for Macao Grand Prix, because it was something that I follow always since children and a dream that come true when I participated by the first time in 2002. Of course, I follow other championships, with primary attention to Formula 1.

8 ) – To conclude, can you leave a message to your fans?

I thank to all who have always followed my career, not only in Macau, but also in Portugal, where I was born and where I fell at home. Thank you for everything!

And this was the interview to Rodolfo Avila!

If you want, you can to read the interview in original version, in Portuguese, here:

http://motorsandworldnews.wordpress.com/2009/06/01/entrevista-a-rodolfo-avila/

Next week, the interview will be to Bruno Junqueira

One Response to Interview to Rodolfo Avila

  1. Pingback: Entrevista a Rodolfo Ávila « Motors and World News MWN – Versão Portuguesa

Leave a comment