Interview to Karline Stala

Hello! Today the interview is to Karline Stala, a young Latvian driver. In 2003, Karline Stala competed in Baltic Toyota Yaris Cup, being 12th; in 2005, she competed in Legends Trophy Finland, being 9th. The highlight of Karline Stala’s career was in 2006, when she was champion of Formula Renault 1.6 Belgium, with 2 wins, 10 podiums and 2 fastest laps, in 12 races. In 2008, Karline Stala competed in 2 races of Formula 3 Finland and in 13 races of ATS Formel 3 Cup.

Here are the interview:
1) – How started your passion by racing cars?
From the early childhood I was connected with racing as supporter to my father who was a racing driver but the real passion started little later. My father bought a gokart for the hobby racing and I tried it . After few tests I was already passionate to take part at the races. This was at year 2000.
2) – In your opinion, what was the best moment in your career until now? Why?
The best moment in my career was the moment when I found out that I have became a champion in Renault 1,6 Belgium championship. I was very exciting because we did not know until the last race who will be the champion. I was just few points behind the championship leader.

3) – In your opinion, what was the worst moment in your career until now? Why?
There were some moments in my career which was not good but I try not refreshing them in my memories. For now the situation of my career is not good because of the lack of support and finance but I am very hopeful that everything will settle down even if I will not take part in the races for now.

4) – What was the pilot (or pilots) that you like most to face in the tracks?
It is Craig Dolby from England. He was my driver coach, really good racing driver and a very good friend.

5) – In your career has been difficult to raise supports (sponsors, etc.)? How is to be a driver in your conditions, a woman in a “men world” and in a country like your, with little visibility on international motorsport?
It is very hard to raise sponsorship support. Lack of big companies and potential supporters from my country are the reason why it is even worse. But my country has many racing fans which are supporting my efforts.

6) – What are the expectations that you have for your future? What is your main objective to your career? Formula 1 is/was the greatest objective?
I think Formula 1 is the greatest target for every racing driver and I am not an excuse.
My expectations for now is to race where ever it could be possible despite the hard times of my countries – Latvia – economics and the global financial situation as well.

7) – Can you leave a message for your fans?
Thank You for the support and I will do whatever I can to move further in my racing career ladder.

And this was the interview to Karline Stala.

Next week, the interview is to Markus Niemela, a young Finnish driver, who already won the Champ Car Atlantic championship, in 2008.

Leave a comment