Interview to Markus Niemelä

Hello! Today, the interview is to Markus Niemelä, the Finnish driver who won the Champ Car Atlantic championship in 2008

Markus Niemelä already competed in categories as Formula Ford (2004, winner of Swedish and Finnish championships; winner of STCC Formula Ford Championship; 2nd in Scandinavian Formula Ford Championship), Formula BMW (2005, 7th, with 1 win and 1 pole); UK Formula Renault Winter Championship (2005, 5th), Formula Renault UK (2006, 7th, with 1 win, 1 pole and 1 fastest lap), Formula Renault Eurocup (2007), Formula Renault Asian Championship (2007), GP2 Series (2007, 31st) and Champ Car Atlantic Championship (2008, champion, with 2 wins and 1 pole).

Here are the interview:

1) – How started your passion by racing cars?
When I was 5 years old i read a story about karting in a magazine. That’s when i really started wanting to drive and started saving money to buy a go-kart. Income of a 5 year old is not that great (pocket money from parents etc) so I had to save for a while but finally had enough for an old self made go-kart and that’s how it started. I was 6 years old at that point and year was 1990. That’s how it all started…

2) – In your opinion, what was the best moment in your career until now? Why?
I have won few titles and many races but there’s one very special moment for me. In 2001 I had not been racing whole year because of serious injury in beginning of the year and it looked like I’m not going to be able to race anymore. Anyway I did my comeback to the last race of the season and won it driving practically one handed because the muscles of my other arm didn’t really work. That was such a great feeling to win my first race after everyone said and thought that I’m done with racing.

3) – In your opinion, what was the worst moment in your career until now? Why?

Read the above… Beginning of 2001 I paralyzed my left arm in big  snowboard crash and doctors said I’m not going to be racing anymore. That was very hard time for me. Thank God I recovered and have won 5 different Championships after the injury so now I think it’s best  thing that ever happened to me. But at the time it was tough.

4) – What was the pilot (or pilots) that you like most to face in the tracks?

I have made few good friends from fellow drivers. All of these good friends are nice to see off the track but everyone is your competitor on the track so you can’t discriminate your friends from non-friends when you race.

5) – In your career has been difficult to raise supports (sponsors, etc.)?

Yes I think this is the biggest obstacle every talented driver must overcome. You need lot of good friends, determination and big chuck of luck to be able to raise funds for your racing. I don’t come from a wealthy family but I’m lucky to have found few loyal supporters who have made it all possible for me to get this far.

6) – What are the expectations that you have for your future? What is your main objective to your career? Formula 1 is the greatest objective?

Formula 1 is the thing. It’s not easy and there are lot of politics involved but there have been some talks and it’s not impossible. Anyway I love driving race cars in general and I’m open for all the different options to race in.

7) – Can you leave a message for your fans?

Thanks a lot for your support! It’s always great to read e-mails and messages from fans and I hope I’m able to give something back to them also.

And this was the interview to Markus Niemelä.

Next time, interview will be to Henri Pescarolo, the founder of Pescarolo Sport, Le Mans Series team.

One Response to Interview to Markus Niemelä

  1. Pingback: Entrevista a Markus Niemelä « Motors and World News MWN – Versão Portuguesa

Leave a comment