Interview to Davide Rigon

Hello! Today the interview is to Davide Rigon, the Italian GP2 Series driver.

Davide Rigon started open-wheel career in Formula BMW ADAC seleccion, in 2002, being 1st, winning 50.000€ and becoming BMW Motorsport driver for 2003. Also in 2002, Davide Rigon competed in Formula Renault 2000 Winter Trophy, being 2nd in Adria circuit. In 2003 season, Davide Rigon competed in Formula BMW ADAC, being 17th, and in Formula Gloria Winter Trophy. Next season, 2004, Davide Rigon was competed in Formula Gloria Italy, being  2nd (with 3 wins, 1 pole positions and 8 podiums), was 11th in Formula 3 Italy, 2nd in Formula Renault 2.0 Italy Winter Series and also competed in Formula Renault 2.0 Italy. In 2005, Davide Rigon competed in Formula Renault 2.0 Italy, being 6th (with 1 win and 3 podiums), was Formula Azurra champion (with 5 wins, 7 pole positions and 7 podiums), was 26th in World Series by Renault 3.5. Also in 2005, Davide Rigon was test driver for Minardi F1 Team.

In 2006, Davide Rigon competed in Formula 3 Italy, being runner-up, with 4 wins, 2 pole positions, 10 podiums and 6 fastest laps; in Euroseries, being 14th and also competed in Formula 3000 Italy, being 13th (in this championship the races were part of the Euroseries 3000).Next season, 2007, Davide Rigon was champion in Euroseries 3000 (with 5 wins, 4 pole positions, 13 podiums and 5 fastest laps) and also was champion in Formula 3000 Italy, where all races were accounted for Euroseries 3000.

Last year, 2008, Davide Rigon competed in 5 championships. He was championship in Superleague Formula, to Beijing Guoan, with 3 wins, 1 pole positions, 5 podiums and 3 fastest laps, was 8th in FIAGT GT2 with 1 win, was 6th in Superstars Championship Italy, with 2 podiums, was 15th in Euroseries 3000, with 1 pole position and 1 podium, and also competed in 2 races of International Formula Master.

This year, Davide Rigon competed in GP2 Asia Series, being 17th, with 1 podium, competed in GP2 Series, being 22nd, and competed in 7 races of Superleague Formula, with Olympiacos CFP. At this moment, Olympiacos CFP is 3rd, but Davide Rigon is not classified.

So, here are the interview:


1) – How started your passion by racing cars?

I began racing with a kart that my father gave me when I was 12 years old. In first this kart was for my Brother Gianandrea but when I drove it I was very fast and we decide to continue to race. My first race was with Formula BMW ADAC in 2002 and next year the Formula Gloria.


2) – In your opinion, what was the best moment in your career until now? Why?

All the championship titles has been important in my career. The last in Superleague has been very exciting because was at the first year with a new car in a new championship and I extend the development of this car.


3) – In your opinion, what was the worst moment in your career until now? Why?

I had bad moments when i couldn’t know in what championship I’ll race during the season. In 2008 I had no budget and Scuderia Italia helped me racing in FIA GT on Ferrari 430 where I Won for the first time the 24 Hours of Spa.


4) – What was the driver (or drivers) that you like most to face in the tracks?

I’ve a good relationship with all drivers outside the track, but during the race we must fight for the win! At the moment my team mate are Max Wissel in Superleague and Ricardo Texeira in GP2, two young and fast drivers.

5) – Is it more special to race in Superleague Formula, defending a football team?

Racing is racing every time! But in Superleague is not special only the football club, but is important what the organization do for every events. It’s nice have the opportunity to see and meet a lot of supporters of racing cars and football.

6) – In your career has been difficult to raise supports (sponsors, etc.)?

For me from the start of my career I’ve always been budget problems. Only my habilities and my talent helped me to continue season after season. I must to demonstrate on track that I merit my cockpit, but is not easy in a sport like motorsport where a driver with a lot of budget more than you can take your place.


7) – What are the expectations that you have for your future? F1 is the main objective?

In this moment I want to complete GP2 Series and give to Trident race first points of this team to thanks them and my sponsor that support me. At the same time I want to try defending my champion title in Superleague Formula. For the future, I think that every drivers wants to arrive in F1, and I hope that this new teams could help young drivers like me to arrive in main series.


8 ) – Can you leave a message for your fans?

In these years I discovered a lot of fan not only in Italy but from all over the world. I want to say thank you for your supporting and I want to improve my results to reward them for the support.

And this was the interview to Davide Rigon!

Next time, the interview will be to Max Wissel, the German driver who is competing, since 2008, in Superleague Formula with FC Basel!

One Response to Interview to Davide Rigon

  1. Pingback: Entrevista a Davide Rigon « Motors and World News MWN – Versão Portuguesa

Leave a comment