Interview to Kazim Vasiliauskas

Hello! Today the interview is to Kazimieras Vasiliauskas, the Lithuanian driver who competed in FIA Formula 2 in 2009.

Kazimieras (Kazim) Vasiliauskas started the open-wheels career in 2008, competing in Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup (10 races, 55th) and in Formula Renault 2.0 Italy (8 races, 21st).

In 2009, Kazim Vasiliauskas competed in FIA Formula 2 (16 races, 7th, with 1 win, 1 pole position, 4 podiums and 2 fastest laps) and in Formula Palmer Audi (20 races, 2nd, 2 wins, 2 pole positions, 11 podiums and 1 fastest lap).

Here are the interview:

1 – How started your passion by racing cars?
When I was 7 my father asked me if I want to race with gokart. Of course I said yes and like this I started racing.

2 – In your opinion, what was the best moment in your career until now? Why?
After every victory or podium I feel good so I think I had many bests moments in my career. In my career I also made few good decisions: to sign contract with my manager Danilo Rossi and to move to F2.

3 – In your opinion, what was the worst moment in your career until now? Why?
Crash in 2008 with Formula Renault in Hungaroring. I stopped racing for 5 mounths.

4 – What was the driver (or drivers) that you like most to face in the tracks?
I never raced with Zanardi but he is my ideal. In gokart I really enjoyed to race with Fore, [Andrea] Piccini.

5 – How is to be racing driver in a country as Lithuania, with little visibility in international motorsport?
In Lithuania motorsport is not popular, no support from government, no circuits. I’m the first driver which is racing in high level races. Now people are quit interested to look F2 races and I hope in the future there will be more drivers from Lithuania.

6 – With the recent fatal crash of your opponent in F2, Henry Surtees, you are with fear of car racing?
I enjoy racing and Henrys death changed nothing to me. It’s just really sad for that what happened for such a good driver.

7 – In your career has been difficult to raise supports (sponsors, etc.)?
‘Till now I don’t have strong sponsors and to find enough money to race is really hard.

8 – What are the expectations that you have for your future? F1 is the main objective?
For the moment I’d like to finish F2 season in top 10 and to win Formula Palmer Audi [n: Kazimieras Vasiliauskas achieved the 1st objective, being 7th in F2, but just was runner-up in Formula Palmer Audi]. Of course F1 is the main objective for me and for all the other drivers.

9 – Can you leave a message for your fans?
I’m really happy that some people from Lithuania or others countries are coming to watch my races. During the race weekend everybody can come and to talk with me.

And this was the interview to Kazim Vasiliauskas!

Next time, the interview will be to Edoardo Piscopo, the driver who competed in 2009-10 GP2 Asia Series first round with DAMS, and competed in FIA Formula 2 in 2009.

One Response to Interview to Kazim Vasiliauskas

  1. Pingback: Entrevista a Kazim Vasiliauskas « Motors and World News MWN – Versão Portuguesa

Leave a comment