Interview to Jonathan Summerton

Hello! Today the interview is to Jonathan Summerton, Formula Atlantic and Indy Lights driver in 2009.

Jonathan Summerton already competed in some championships. He started in open-wheels in 2004, being 3rd in Formula BMW USA (4 wins, 4 pole positions, 7 podiums and 4 fastest laps). Also in first year, he drove in 2 races of Formula BMW ADAC. In 2005, Jonathan Summerton was 10th in Formula BMW ADAC (1 podium), was 14th in Formula BMW USA (2 pole positions and 1 podium in 4 races) and was 26th in Formula BMW Word Final. In 2006, the driver was “promoted” to Formula 3 Euroseries, being 9th in this championship (1 win and 3 podiums). Also in 2006, he was 10th in Masters of Formula 3. In 2007, Jonathan Summerton drove in 6 races of Formula 3 Euroseries and competed in A1GP, 2006-07 season, with Team USA. He was 9th, with 1 podium and 1 fastest lap. For 2007-08, he continued with Team USA in A1GP. In this year, Jonathan Summerton was 12th (1 win and 3 podiums). In 2008, the driver also competed in Atlantic Championship Powered by Mazda, being 3rd, with 2 wins, 1 pole position, 5 podiums and 1 fastest lap. In 2009, he competed in two championships: Formula Atlantic (2nd, 4 wins, 5 pole positions, 9 podiums and 6 fastest laps) and in Firestone Indy Lights (17th, 1 podim).

Here is the interview:

1 – How started your passion by racing cars?
Well it all started with me racing with remote control cars and then I got into Karts and from there I got a scholarship from BMW for FBMW USA in 2004 when I started racing cars for the first time.

2 – What was the best moment of your career until now, in your opinion?
My win in the A1GP series in Shanghai. Was amazing to win that race for my country and win against so many god drivers.

3 – What was the worst moment of your career until now, in your opinion?
Probably this season when I had a tire failure in Milwaukee in Indy Lights and hit the wall at about 140mph.

4 – What is the driver (or drivers) that you like most to face in tracks?
Michael Schumacher, Lewis Hamilton, Alonso, Montoya, and Vettel which I have raced with already but was a lot of fun. They are very good drivers and would be great to race against them.

5 – Had/Have you, in your career, to raise supports (sponsors,…)?
I have had too but haven’t been able to find many. In recent years I have been lucky enough that the team has sponsors to support me to drive for them and let me focus on my driving.

6 – What is the greatest goal to your career? F1 is the main objective?
Making it to Formula 1 is my first and main objective once I make it there it is to become world champion and multiple world champion.

7 – In last mounths, the press was linked you to F1 for 2010 season. Can you tell to MWN Blog some words about your eventual entry in Formula 1 2010 Season?
I don’t know what is going on with F1 for me. I said I hope to make it and be a part of USF1 but you know it would be a dream come true and I really hope I can be a part of that team but you know I am focused on doing everything I can to make it there.

8 – To finish, can you leave a message for your fans?
Just want to say thank you for all of your support and without my fans I would be nothing. You know I am a normal person and well you know my fans mean a lot to me and I am always willing to do anything for them. Thanks again for their support.

This was the interview to Jonathan Summerton!

Next interview to be published is with Loic Duval, the French driver who already drove for A1GP Team France.

One Response to Interview to Jonathan Summerton

  1. Excellent Article! I personally really enjoy your writing. This is a great website. I will make sure that I stop back again!.

Leave a comment