Interview to Loic Duval

Hello! Today the interview is to Loic Duval, the French driver who will compete in Le Mans Series LMP1 in 2010 with Team Oreca Matmut.

Loic Duval started the career in Formula Renault Campus France in 2002, being champion with 9 wins, 9 pole positions and 13 podiums. In 2003, the driver competed in Championnat de France FFSA de Formula Renault, being champion with 4 wins, 4 pole positions, 5 podiums and 1 fastest lap. Next season, 2004, Loic Duval competed in Formula 3 Euro Series, being 12th (2 podiums), in Bahrain F3 Super Prix (8th), in Formula 3 Macau GP and in Masters of Formula 3 (14th). In 2005, Loic Duval was 7th in Formula 3 Euro Series, was 6th in Formula 3 Macau GP and was 10th in Masters of Formula 3. In 2006, the driver competed in Formula Nippon (4th, 2 wins, 2 podiums and 1 fastest lap) and was 11th in SuperGT Japan GT500, with 1 win, 1 pole position, 1 podium and 1 fastest lap. In 2006, Loic Duval also debuted in A1GP, with Team France, being 4th in 2006-07 season (4 podiums). In 2007, Loic Duval was runner-up in SuperGT Japan GT500, with  1 win, 3 podiums and 1 fastest lap, and also competed in Formula Nippon (6th, 4 podiums, 1 fastest lap). In 2007-08 A1GP season, Loic Duval was 4th with A1 Team France (1 win, 2 pole positions, 7 podiums, 1 fastest lap). In 2008 season, the driver competed in Formula Nippon, being runner-up with 2 wins, 6 podiums and 1 fastest lap; competed in SuperGT Japan GT500, being 10th with 1 podium; was 8th in Le Mans 24h LMP1 class; and competed in Le Mans Series LMP1, being 17th. In 2009, Loic Duval competed in Asian Le Mans Series LMP1 class, being 3rd with 2 podiums in 2 races; competed in SuperGT Japan GT500 (16th, 1 pole position); and was champion in Formula Nippon (4 wins, 3 podiums, 6 podiums and 3 fastest laps). Loic Duval also competed in A1GP 2008-09 season with A1 Team France, being 5th with 1 win, 3 podiums and 1 fastest lap.

Here are the interview:

1 – How started your “passion” by racing cars?

It first started with motor bike when I was 9 years old, but as I had many accidents, my father made me try go-kart and I liked it much better as I was much faster..I was 11 years old. Then I started to race into the regional championship, and then the national and after a few times the international championship. Thanks to the French Federation (I was a in the French Team) I reached the Formula Campus, that I won, then I got a reward to drive in the French Formula Renault that I also won the 1st year which allowed me to join the RDD (Renault Driver Development). After 2 years in Formula 3 Euroseries, with the Renault support, I had the offer to become a professional racing driver in Japan in 2 categories: Formula Nippon and Super GT. I would say that as soon as I started to feel that I could be in front, I became passionate by racing cars, I am a big competitor, even when I play football with my friends, I just want to win.

2 – In your opinion, what was the best moment in your career until now? Why?

The 24h Le Mans in 2008! It is such a particular race, you don’t drive only for you but for the team which spends the whole year working on it, and for that, you have to be fast, consistent, and you must not do any mistake, it is a big challenge. When I crossed the finishing line, it was like a victory for us to finish the 24 hours Le Mans in 8th position!

3 – In your opinion, what was the worst moment in your career until now? Why?

Macao 2005, in F3, I was on pole of the 2nd race (I won the first race the day before), and during the starting procedure, the arm break slid from my hand and the car moved… it was considered as a jump start and I had a drive trough whereas I was leading…I was really disappointed because I had to win, and at that time I thought that my career would maybe end there in Macao..but finally, I had the offer to drive in Japan, who knows what would have happened if I had driven in GP2 in a middle team?? Maybe I would not be a racing driver anymore…

4 – What is the driver (or drivers) that you like most to face in the tracks?

Lotterer, Tréuyer, Kogure, Jani, Jarvis, I always had nice and fair battles with them.

5 – In your career, you had been difficulties to raise supports (sponsors, etc.)?

As I said before, I had the chance to be selected by the French Federation since I was a kartman and it helped me to reach the categories of autosport, and as I won, it also helped me a lot to enter the RDD program which supported my F3 euroseries seasons and then I became a professional racing driver. I had the chance to not be dependant on the sponsors…

6 – What is the biggest goal that you have for your career? Formula 1 is the main objective?

Formula 1 is the main objective but it is harder and harder to enter it. I would say that F1 will be for me the cherry on the cake, my biggest goal is to continue my career as a professional in the best categories like Super GT, Nippon, DTM, IRL or LMP1…and in the best teams.

7 – Has you contacts with new Formula 1 teams to race in 2010? If not, what is the series that you are trying to do in 2010?

I have a few contacts, but nothing concrete today. Otherwise, I study the opportunities I have in Japan between Honda, Nissan and Toyota, and in Europe and the States.

8 – How is to race in A1GP? Is more special because to race deffending your country?

For sure, it is really a good feeling to race for his country, I wish that I could have done more races in the serie, but my 2 championships in Japan prevent me from racing an entire season. Anyway my priority is Japan, and I am very happy to be part of the A1GP challenge with Team France, we had many good moments.

9 – Finally, can you leave a message for your fans?

Do not hesitate to visit my website, I will inform you as soon as possible about 2010! Many thanks for you support, it is always good to feel it!

And this was the interview to Loic Duval.

Next interview to be published is to Federico Leo.

One Response to Interview to Loic Duval

  1. Pingback: Entrevista a Loic Duval « Motors and World News MWN – Versão Portuguesa

Leave a comment