Interview to Stéphane Richelmi

Hello! This interview is with Stéphane Richelmi, a young driver from Monaco.

Richelmi’s debut in the single-seaters was in 2006. He was 12th in Belgian Formula Renault 1.6.

In the following year, Richelmi drove in Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0, beeing 46th. He also entered in two races of Italian Formula Renault 2.0. In 2008, the Monegasque driver competed in Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 again, also entering in seven races of Formula Renault 2.0 WEC and in six races of Formula 3 Euroseries.

In 2009, Stéphane Richelmi scored his first podiums in the single-seaters. The young driver scored three podiums in the Italian Formula 3, being the 6th in the final standings. Richelmi also competed in the British Formula 3. In the French FFSA Championship, Richelmi drove in two races and scored one pole position, one victory and another podium.

In 2010, Richelmi scored is best final result in championships, beeing runner-up in the Italian Formula 3. He scored four victories and another four podiums in 16 races.

This year, the Monegasque driver competed in Formula Renault 3.5 and drove in the Monza round of GP2 Series.

Here are the interview:

1 – How started your passion for racing cars?

I don’t remember exactly, I was very young! I was interesting in rallyes done by my father and I watched the F1 Grand Prix at home since I was 6-7 years old. And I have been watching sports car that we can find in Monaco! But I never imagined I would start a career before my father suggested it when I was 12…

2 – What was the best moment in your career so far? Why?

My first pole in single-seater last year in Italian Formula 3 because I was a bit angry by the strategy chosen. I couldn’t have done my fastest lap before the 8th one which is very late with new tyres. I was sure that I won’t be in pole position…

3 – What was the worst moment in your career so far? Why?

The beginning of the season 2009 when I was still in the British F3 was really a frustrating and disappointed moment. I began my career in 2006 and after two short season of learning I was waiting for some good results than didn’t arrive in Formula Renault in 2008. I knew to start in a new category would be complicated but after the two first meetings, I was always last in the A class classification.

4 – What are the drivers who you like most to face in the races? Why?

I have to admit that I’m already surrounded by great drivers in [Formula Renault] World Series 3.5 like [Jean-Eric] Vergne, [Daniel] Ricciardo, [Robert] Wickens. There are also great drivers in GP2 but the best would be to race against Formula 1 drivers.

5 – The evolution of your career has been difficult. Are the difficulties motivated by financial problems?

You know in motorsports the driver can’t control everything and it depends of the team and the car he is driving. I’m not saying that I only found bad teams but my worst results are caused by the inexperience of some teams I raced with.

Financially speaking, we didn’t spend too much money in karting and even in single-seater, I didn’t make a lot of tests like others drivers. So for sure this lack of mileage had a role in my poor results at the beginning of my career but not now.

And like I said, the feelings with the car are really important and currently I’m thinking that the [Formula Renault] WS [3.5] car isn’t the best for my driving style.

 

6 – This year your career finally took a big jump. How was to compete in Formula Renault 3.5 and GP2 Series?

We decided to participate at the [Formula Renault] WS [3.5] because it’s a very high level championship with only professionals teams and on the greatest tracks of Europe. The winter’s test went well so it comforted myself to do this championship. Unfortunately it didn’t go well for some little reasons… The GP2 race in Monza was a great opportunity and i really enjoyed this race.

7 – How came the opportunity to compete in the last two races of 2011 GP2 Series season with Trident Racing?

Stefano Coletti had this accident so he wasn’t able to race in Monza and thanks to my manager, Cyrille Sauvage, who pointed up my good results in Italian Formula 3, we manage to race with Trident for the last race of the season.

8 – Can you do a summary/review of your GP2 Series participation this year?

In Monza the car impressed me with its brake’s efficiency and its powerful engine! The tyres deterioration was a new element to consider but I did quite well in both races without have driven the car before. It makes the race more interesting for the spectators.

9 – In 2011 your main championship was Formula Renault 3.5. What review you do about your season in this championship? Did the season go as expected?

I’m a bit disappointed about this season because I expected better! My first objective was to score points on each race and make at least one podium… Unfortunately we didn’t manage to put everything well together on a race week-end. I mean that if I make a good qualifying 1 the Saturday, I make a good race 2 the Sunday! Therefore I scored only some points in the Race 1 of Monza but started on the 4th position… It could have done better but I did two huge flat spots on the first braking and as it was the first race, we couldn’t change the tyres. In the last race, I was running P9 and when I tried to overtake one driver who has just made his pit stop, I spun…

10 – Have you already plans for 2012? If yes, what can you tell for blog Motor Racing News?

At this moment I really don’t know! But I would like to continue in single-seater for sure, so stay in WS or move up in GP2.

 

11- Is there anything more that you would like to say about your career?

I just want to say that I’m very lucky to get this chance of doing what I like the most! And that I learned a lot and have grown so much making this sport. I will keep in mind all the moments I get through. I will always remember all the people who helped me and have trusted in me.

12 – Ending the interview: can you “send” a message for your fans?

Without the fans, we couldn’t do anything! They are the key of each sports and other entertainment. So guys, keep going like this, I would give you the most of my time wherever I am. Thanks a lot.

picture: http://www.gpupdate.net/en/gp2-news/267222/richelmi-to-replace-coletti-at-trident/

Leave a comment