Interview with Luca Fillipi: “Finally I had the right car and the right team around me”

Hello! This interview that I publish is with Italian driver Luca Filippi.

The first season of Luca Filippi competing in the open-wheels was in 2005. He was champion in Italian Formula 3000 championship, scoring four pole positions, four victories and six podium results. In the following year, Fillipi started a six-season cycle in GP2 Series and GP2 Asia Series championships. In GP2 Series, the Italian driver started with a 19th place in 2006, and his best final result in the championship was the 2nd place in 2011. Throughout his six seasons in the championships, Filippi scored three pole positions, four victories and 16 podium results. In the GP2 Asia Series championship, Luca Fillipi best result was the 2nd place in 2010. Filippi competed in GP2 Asia Series from 2008 to 2011, grabbing 1 pole position, 1 victory and three podiums .

Luca Filippi competed in the AutoGP championship in 2010 and 2011, being fifth and runner-up. Three pole positions, two victories and a total of nine podiums is the record of Italian driver in this championship.

It is important to say that Luca Fillipi was test driver for Honda’s oficial Formula One team in 2008.

Here is the interview:


1 – How started your passion by racing cars?

My father was Italian rally champion in the 80s, so our family is involved in motorsport since many years. Then it looks like this passion it’s really addictive…

2 – What was the best moment in your career so far? Why?

Today. I’m happy, I’m completely satisfied with myself and my season, I’m relaxed because I know I’ve done everything was possible and I feel I’m in a great shape at the moment.

3 – What was the worst moment in your career so far? Why?

2008. There was a lot of expectation but we made the wrong choice on the team and the season went bad, then Honda decided to end the F1 program and I was part of it. Everything went wrong all together at the same time.

4 – What are the drivers who you like most to face in the races? Why?

Alonso and Button. Fernando because he is strong and determinated.

Jenson because I worked with him in the past and I know how fast he drives, then he is a real gentleman.

5 – After six years competing in GP2 Series, you were the runner-up in 2011. How you feel after securing this honorable place?

Finally I had the right car and the right team around me. I feel great!

6 – Did the 2011 season went as you expected?

It went much better, nobody expected these kind of performances! I feel I’m in a good shape and I drive better than always.

7 – Can you do a summary/review of your 2011 season?

The best season of my career, no mistakes, great results, many victories and I feel in a great shape.

8 – How was to work with Scuderia Coloni this year? Is this team very different compared with Super Nova Racing?

I found an impressive motivation at Coloni, it’s hard to say why. It can be the fact we are all Italian, the mechanics and engineer were waiting badly for a fast driver to compete for them, me being relaxed because I had nothing to lose…maybe all together. We basically just needed each other to find joy and confidence.

9 – Gives you more hopes to reach Formula 1 the second place in GP2 Series this season?

mmm… Not really so far. But I never give up.

10 – Have you already plans for 2012 season? If yes, what can you tell to blog Motor Racing News?

I want to be professional, I’d like to race and test for a manufacture.  To develop a program and my career. I feel is time to move on.

11 – Is there anything more that you would like to say about your career?

IRL can be a great option too!

12 – Ending the interview: can you “send” a message for your fans?

I have to thank Italian tifosi and fans for supporting me in bad and better times and want to say to them to keep shouting and make some noise to make people listening…hopefully some important people for  the top of motorsport.

picture: http://grandepremio.ig.com.br/gp2/2011/08/24/coloni+confirma+filippi+ao+lado+de+herck+para+etapa+da+belgica+10482833.html

Leave a comment