Interview with Thierry Boutsen: nowadays Formula 1 “is a different world altogether, in my days computers did not exist, the brain was necessary…”

Hello! Today [27-02-2012] I publish the interview with Thierry Boutsen.

 

Thierry Boutsen was a French racing driver. During his career, Thierry Boutsen drove in various championships, but was in Formula 1 that he became famous. The French driver reached F1 in 1983, after a second and a third place in European Formula 2 Championship (1981 and 1982). In Formula 1, the first podium of Thierry Boutsen was during 1987 season (third at Australian GP). The best overall classification for this driver was a fourth place, in 1988 season with Benetton-Cosworth. Next year, Boutsen was fifth with Williams-Renault, winning his first Grand Prix (Canada). The last season of Thierry Boutsen in F1 was 1993, competing with a Jordan-Hart. During his 10 years in F1, Thierry Boutsen drove with teams as Benetton, Williams, Jordan or Arrows, among others, and drove cars powered by BMW, Renault or Lamborghini engines, among others.

Thierry Boutsen also competed in some editions of Le Mans 24 Hours (his first attempt was in 1981, in the class C). His best classification was the second position (overall, in 1993 and 1996), and a class (GT 1) victory in 1996. Other podiums places for Thierry Boutsen at Le Mans were in 1994 (third overall and second in GT 1 class) and 1995 (second in WSC class).

 

Nowadays, Thierry Boutsen has a business related to aviation – Boutsen Aviation.

Here is the interview:

 

1 – How started your passion by racing cars?

I have told my parents I wanted to be a race car driver when I was 3!

 

2 – What was the best moment in your racing career? Why?

Looking back, my whole career was my best moment, it is just incredible that I could achieve a dream I had when I was 3, successfully, up to the highest level. But in My career there have been highlights, like my first victory in Formula Ford, my first championship, and mainly the fact that I have won races in all the different categories I raced like Formula 1, Group C, GT1, Tourism, FFord, F3, F2, etc.

 

3 – What was the worst moment in your racing career? Why?

I lost 8 close friends in race accidents, at that time Motorsport was a dangerous sport!

 

4 – Who are the drivers that you liked more as opponents? Why?

One driver was the best of all, Ayrton Senna. He was also my best and only friend in F1…

 

5 – Nowadays, who are your favorite drivers? Why?

I like and respect all of them, I know how difficult it is to fight in a world of sharks, where the material makes more difference than the human.

 

6 – Canadian GP 1989, your first victory in F1. Do you remember the moment? If yes, how you lived your first victory in F1?

Canada 89 was my first victory. I have waited for that moment for a long time, but I knew inside me that this moment would come. I had led some GP before, like Mexico in 87, I was also on a winning pace in 87 Zeltweg, both times the car had a mechanical failure.

 

7 – Although you’ve been F1 driver during 10 years, you won only three races and your best overall classification was fourth. What missed in your F1 career to be more successful?

I raced against the best F1 drivers of all times, Senna, Prost, Mansell, Piquet, and against McLaren and Williams for most of these years, it was tough competition…

 

8 – You raced with teams as Benetton, Williams or Ligier, and you drove cars powered with Renault, BMW or Lamborghini engines, among others. What was your favorite team, and your favorite car/engine, and why?

My favorite team was Williams, they gave me the opportunity to win GP, but the most enjoyable car to drive was the Benetton in 1987, due to its handling. Unfortunately this car was not very reliable…

9 – In your opinion, what are the differences between F1 when you raced, and nowadays F1?

It is a different world altogether, in my days computers did not exist, the brain was necessary…

10 – Now, you have a business related to aviation. Is it another passion that you have?

This passion started when I was 18, I started flying then, in 1988, I bought my first airplane, a Piper Cheyenne. I sold it a couple of years later, bought a Lear 35A, then a Citation. Dealing with airplanes was fascinating, therefore the transition from cars to airplanes was a natural thing. I formed my company with my wife Daniela in 97, and since then we have sold 220 business jets, turboprops and helicopters. Our company is expanding, we will shortly open offices in Dubai.

11 – Finishing, can you “send” a message for your fans?

I hope I gave them a lot of pleasure watching exciting races, I would like to thank them for coming and watching races, without fans Motorsport would not exist!!!

Leave a comment